People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

f8caedf4-19a0-40ca-a549-1c9cb7d5c5c6

This wonderful book was a recommendation from my aunt via my mom. That is to say, years and years ago my aunt–a writer herself–recommended it to my mom and at some point my mom suggested it to me. It was a title on my want-to-read list on Goodreads for ages and ages, but also not one I actively sought out. I found this slightly battered copy at (where else?) the Half Price Books clearance sale.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned my aunt on the blog before. She’s a pretty cool person. When she was younger she was one of those bohemian, artistic, altruistic types that befriended future NGO directors on trips to South America or Africa or wherever else. She’s always been a writer and even co-authored a series of books for children. But it can be hard to judge her book recommendations, especially filtered through my mom because none of our tastes in books are exactly alike. Usually, though, if it’s something they both really liked? Odds are I’m going to like it, too.

I spent most of this book trying to think of what other, inferior book it reminded me of plot-wise. I’m still not entirely sure. I think maybe Labyrinth by Kate Mosse, which I found unsatisfying. Beyond the plot though, I put People of the Book on a level with some of my long-time favorites that I constantly force on other people to read: The Red Tent and The Nightingale, for example. They’re books that touch on old things but also have themes that are so relevant right now. Coming from a Jewish family, People of the Book was always going to hit me in that certain way.

I kind of wish the book had been longer. The vignettes tracing the origins of the haggadah were almost too short. Brooks could have written entire separate novels focused on each of those. In fact, I think the name of this book is a little backwards. The characters are the people who belong to the book, not the other way around. As fascinating as each mini-story was, ultimately, the protagonist is the haggadah and the power it holds over the people who stumble into its path.

Jewish or not, I think this is a beautiful book and I would absolutely recommend it. I can’t even be that quippy or sarcastic when talking about it because it’s just that lovely. I know you’re disappointed by the lack of snark, though. I’ll try to do better next time. Meanwhile, rest assured that this one comes with a triple seal of approval from me, my mom, and my aunt. It’s coveted, that triple seal. It’s only right to take it seriously.

3 thoughts on “People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

Leave a comment